Three is the magic number

The Stanley & Audrey Burton Gallery Learning Co-ordinator, Lizzie Bushby, ends her maternity cover this week. She reflects on the top three things she has enjoyed about the role.

SAB_FootstepsintoArt_Lizzie'sFinalBlog_31.07.2017

I joined the Footsteps into Art programme as maternity cover last September. The nine months since then have been full of activity and have passed in a blur. This week is my final week.

Here are my top 3 things about the role:

The Footsteps into Art Exhibition

Since the workshops started in November, I have had the exhibition in mind. I was really excited about displaying the wonderful work the children were doing and celebrating Footsteps into Art with the wider Gallery audience. At the same time I felt quite daunted by the process, as I hadn’t been involved in curating and installing an exhibition before.

When June rolled around, the work started in earnest. I really enjoyed putting together broad themes, gathering artwork into groups which visually looked good and writing the information panels. A colleague helped me to pin work in the cabinets, and I spent a happy couple of days tweaking, drilling, sanding and painting until I was happy with the display.

I am so proud of the exhibition, and have had some wonderful feedback from visitors. It’s on display until 19th August so if you haven’t already seen it, please pop into the Gallery!

Environmental Art Workshop

Inspired by the work of Anthony Goldsworthy, I wanted to introduce environmental art to the programme so I booked an environmental artist for a Leeds City Academy workshop in May. One sunny afternoon, we left the Gallery for Chancellor’s Court armed with just a few long sticks for frames. The students found materials including pine cones, twigs, daisies and gravel, and used them to create thoughtful and detailed transient works of art.

Check out the photograph here. Can you spot which works in the Gallery were used as inspiration?

Working with student volunteers

The student volunteers are invaluable in running the programme. It has been great to meet and work with a range of students from power lifters to photographers.
I have really appreciated their support in preparing and running the workshops, and have enjoyed getting to know them.

If you are a University of Leeds student and are interested in volunteering during the 2017-18 academic year, please contact c.evans@leeds.ac.uk.

Leave a Reply

